The Waiting: Tick Tock Goes the Clock Laughing at Me as it Stops

31 May

Our impatience seems to make the focus of our attention come to a standstill.  I think we all have been in these situations where we wait for something or someone with eager attention and anticipation: waiting for an email, waiting for a phone call, waiting for a text, waiting for the right person, waiting for an opportunity, waiting for an answer, waiting for a question, waiting for dreams to come true, waiting, waiting and waiting…

You’ve heard these, right?:

“A watched pot never boils.”

“Time stands still when you stare at the clock.”

And there is a difference between waiting for something we know is going to happen for certain and waiting for something where the outcome is unknown – which is the focus of this post.  The former is usually exciting, fun, and joyous like waiting for a baby to be born or waiting to go on a planned vacation.

However, the latter is terrifying, frustrating, and agonizing such as waiting for test results or waiting for a revelation about your life purpose.  You’re left in a terrible limbo with no foreseeable way out.  You’re screaming, “Hurry up already!!” or “When is it gonna happen!?!”

What is the answer to help with the waiting part?  I’m asking because I don’t know plus I’m busy screaming.

Someone provided the following reply:

“If we must wait for something, then take your mind off the waiting by doing something else.  While putting our energy elsewhere, what we are waiting for is free to accelerate.”

Can the simple act of distraction be the answer?

Does this mean we are putting all the “waiting” energy into the thing we are waiting for thereby causing it to delay even further?

Perhaps there is something there.  But for the life of me, I could go my entire life without hearing these phrases ever again:

“All good things come to those who wait.”

“Hang on just a little longer.”

“Rome wasn’t built in a day.”

“All in good time.”

Don’t get me wrong they are great adages but for someone else.  I implore you to offer me a distraction that will not drive me mad and I will do the same.

If waiting really is the hardest part, as Tom Petty sang, then we should all be so lucky.

.

.

H. Hassenbein

****

