The Conversation that Made the Believer Insane

22 Aug

Believer:  I have believed and stayed positive for a long time yet I still see none of my dreams coming to pass.  I am grateful for all that I have but I feel my life is going terribly wrong.  I am becoming depressed and feeling hopeless.  I need help.

Wise One:  Help comes from the Lord the Maker of heaven and earth.

Believer:  Yes, I know this but I need help right now.

Wise One:  There’s a reason for everything and everything has its divine time.

Believer:  I am aware of divine time however how does this help me right now?

Wise One:  Everything will be okay in the end.  If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.

Believer:  What?

Wise One:  All is well.

Believer:  How can all be well when I just said it was not?  My patience is growing weary and…

Wise One:  Patience is the greatest of all virtues.

Believer:  …and I am tired of waiting.

Wise One:  For everything there is a season.

Believer:  And just how long is this season supposed to last?

Wise One:  All things come to him who waits.

Believer:  I have waited.

Wise One:  An attitude of gratitude will create blessings.

Believer:  I am grateful and express what I am grateful for every day.

Wise One:  You will reap what you sow.

Believer:  I have prayed.  I have meditated.  I have visualized.  I have kept my spirits high.  I have taken guided actions.  I have read the books and listened to the teachers.  I continue to do these things but I’m saying I’m losing my belief because after all these years I still see nothing.

Wise One:  You must believe it before you can see it.

Believer:  (Thinking: WTF!)  Are you listening to me?!?  I said I have believed and continue to believe but I am in a slump and need some advice on how to keep moving forward!

Wise One:  Live one day at a time.

Believer:  I do this anyway!  Everyone does!  How do you get through the day when you just feel like curling up in a ball and crying all day?!?

Wise One:  Think happy thoughts.

Believer:  Look, if you don’t know how to help me just say so!!

Wise One:  Love is the answer.

Believer:  Are you f@#&ing kidding me?!?  I need real practical help to get me through this time!!

Wise One:  Help comes from the Lord the Maker of heaven and earth.

.

.

H. Hassenbein

.

(Alternate Post Name: The Conversation that Turned the Believer Into an Atheist) 

