Happily Ever What?

8 Nov

The movie, The Switch, started with a perspective steeped in authenticity.

“Look at us, running around.  Always rushed, always late.  I guess that’s why they call it the human race.  What we crave most in this world is connection.  For some people it happens at first site.  It’s when you know you know.  It’s fate working its magic.  And that’s great for them.  They get to live in a pop song; ride the express train.  But that’s not the way it really works.  For the rest of us, it’s a bit less romantic.  It’s complicated.  It’s messy.  It’s about horrible timing and fumbled opportunities.  And not being able to say what you need to say when you need to say it.  At least, that’s the way it was for me.”

It is a sentiment many people feel and can relate to.  The Rom-Com movie is okay but whenever watching a movie I find myself listening for the  inspirational tidbits that help bring comfort to my soul.  I look for a connection.  I look to be understood.  It may be silly but searching for ways to feel less alone helps, even if that help comes in the form of a movie.

Then there was the disappointing ending…

“Look at us, running around. Always rushed, always late. I guess that’s why they call it the human race. But sometimes, it slows down just enough for all the pieces to fall into place. Fate works its magic and you’re connected. Every once in a while, amid the randomness, something unexpected happens that pushes us all forward. And the truth is, what I’m starting to think, what I’m starting to feel, is that the human race, isn’t a race at all.”

I don’t know what else I was expecting because, of course, they had to end on a happily ever after.  They always do.  It’s not that I didn’t want to see the movie end on a positive note but the comfort I felt from the opening was suddenly yanked away.   Do things really slow down so everything can finally work out in our favor?  Does fate really step in and work its magic?  Some would give an irrefutable YES.  But what about the rest who are holding on to hope that is dwindling?

What is fate waiting for?

.

